

# ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Date: Thursday, 4 November 2021

Time: 7:00pm

**Location:** Council Chamber, Civic Centre

699 Doncaster Road, Doncaster

# **INDEX**

1	COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS	2
2	APOLOGIES	2
	MAYORAL TERM	
	ELECTION OF MAYOR	
5	CONGRATULATORY MOTION	3
6	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR	3
7	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OUTGOING MAYOR	4
8	CLOSE OF MEETING	4

# MANNINGHAM CITY COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 4 NOVEMBER 2021 AT 7:00PM IN COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE 699 DONCASTER ROAD, DONCASTER

The meeting commenced at 7:00pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Anna Chen

Councillor Andrew Conlon Councillor Deirdre Diamante Councillor Geoff Gough Councillor Michelle Kleinert Councillor Carli Lange Councillor Tomas Lightbody Councillor Laura Mayne Councillor Stephen Mayne

OFFICERS PRESENT: Chief Executive Officer, Mr Andrew Day

Acting Director City Planning & Community, Mr Niall Sheehy

Director City Services, Ms Rachelle Quattrocchi

Corporate Counsel and Group Manager Governance & Risk,

Mr Andrew McMaster

**Group Manager People and Communications, Ms Kerryn** 

Paterson

### 1 COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS

The Chief Executive Officer opened the meeting and commenced proceedings by reading the prayer and statements of acknowledgment.

### 2 APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

### 3 MAYORAL TERM

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MOVED: CR LAURA MAYNE SECONDED: CR GEOFF GOUGH

That Council determine the Mayor be elected for a one year term.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

## 4 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The election of the Mayor was facilitated by the Chief Executive Officer pursuant to section 25(3) of the *Local Government Act 2020* and in accordance with Council's Governance Rules.

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Mayor for 2021-2022.

Cr Tomas Lightbody nominated and Cr Carli Lange seconded the nomination of Cr Michelle Kleinert.

There were no further nominations and the Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Michelle Kleinert duly elected as Mayor for 2021-2022.

The Mayor was robed and enchained. The Mayor responded to Council on her appointment and assumed the Chair.

### 5 CONGRATULATORY MOTION

## **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

MOVED: CR LAURA MAYNE SECONDED: CR CARLI LANGE

On behalf of Council and the residents of the municipality, congratulations be extended to Cr Kleinert on being elected as Mayor of Manningham City Council.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Councillors Mayne, Lange and Lightbody congratulated Cr Kleinert on her election as Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer congratulated the Mayor on behalf of the organisation.

### **6 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

The election of the Deputy Mayor was undertaken pursuant to section 27 of the *Local Government Act 2020* and in accordance with Council's Governance Rules.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for 2021-2022.

Cr Laura Mayne nominated and Cr Carli Lange seconded the nomination of Cr Deirdre Diamante.

As there were no further nominations, the Mayor declared Cr Deirdre Diamante duly elected as Deputy Mayor for 2021-2022.

# 7 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OUTGOING MAYOR

### COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MOVED: CR ANNA CHEN SECONDED: CR GEOFF GOUGH

On behalf of Council and the residents of the municipality, a motion of appreciation be recorded to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Andrew Conlon.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

Councillors Chen, Gough, S Mayne and Diamante acknowledged and thanked the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Andrew Conlon.

The Chief Executive Officer thanked the outgoing Mayor on behalf of the organisation and presented him with a gavel and gift.

The outgoing Mayor Councillor Conlon responded.

## 8 CLOSE OF MEETING

The Mayor declared the meeting closed.

The meeting concluded at 7:42pm

Chairperson
CONFIRMED THIS 23 NOVEMBER 2021